Reviews

Your App Store subscriptions can now charge you more without explicit permission

Written by admin

Apple’s auto-renewing subscriptions, like any other automated payment method, can save you a lot of time, especially if you pay for a lot of services. But Cupertino recently updated his policy and if you’re on a tight budget you need to be even more careful from now on.

In a blog post, the Cupertino company announced that – from now – if the price of a subscription increases and certain criteria are met, the developers can automatically bill you for the next period without requiring you to sign up for the service again. As for the specific terms for this to happen, Apple stated that the price increase should only be once a year, should not exceed $5 and 50% of the subscription fee, or $50 and 50% for an annual subscription fee, and must be allowed by local law.

Apple will of course notify you in advance of the price increase via email, push notification and an in-app message. If you wish, you will also be informed about viewing, managing and canceling your subscriptions.

It is important to note that any subscription price increases above the thresholds, exceeding the annual limit, or occurring within areas where required by law will not automatically renew the subscription. In this case, you must manually sign up for the service for the increase to take effect.

Previously, when there was a price increase, Apple notified you of the price change and you were automatically opted out of the service. Then you had to manually choose to subscribe again if you wanted to continue paying for the app in question. But according to Apple, this method has resulted in unintentionally interrupted services, as many users simply missed or forgot the opt-in prompt. That’s why the Cupertino company has decided to implement the new policy and now if you are willing to pay the higher price, you don’t have to do anything, because the service will continue to work.

Of course, it’s very likely that you’ll also miss Apple’s opt-out notifications, or forget to cancel your subscription in time for the price change to take effect. Presumably, the Cupertino company has therefore decided to set a threshold. Plus, in most cases, you can cancel your subscription at any time, so if you forgot to unsubscribe when it was time, you could end up losing a few extra dollars in the worst case scenario.

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment