Snapchat’s latest new feature tries to socialize users more within the social app. Shared Stories is a new way for Snapchat users to engage friends in creating Stories. The new feature is the evolution of Custom Stories, which allowed users to create a story before and add friends to view and contribute to them. The new Shared Stories feature allows Snapchat users who have been added to a group to add their friends as well. Designed with privacy in mind, Snaps sent to a shared story will be deleted after 24 hours. These shared stories also don’t have a chat component, so conversations between friends remain private.
Besides, Snap revealed that content will be carefully moderated using a mix of automatic language detection and new community review tools. More importantly, Snapchat users will be notified as soon as they join a shared story with someone they’ve blocked so they can leave the shared story if they want to too.
The new Shared Stories feature is now rolling out to Snapchat users around the world on all supported platforms, but it can take a few days to reach everyone.