Reviews

iOS 16: Editing and Undoing Messages

Written by admin

Of iOS16, Apple will add a few new features to its Messages app. You can edit and unsend recently sent messages, and recover messages that were recently deleted. You can also mark conversations as unread so you don’t forget to come back to them later.

This article is devoted to the new features coming to the Messages app soon and shows how these options will work. Our story is based on iOS 16’s public beta, so there may be some differences from the official release.

Edit a message in Messages

1. To edit a message in the Messages app, hold your finger on the bubble containing the message you want to change.

2. In the menu that has just opened, select the option “Edit”. Now you will see that your words have appeared in the text field.

3. Rewrite your message and tap the blue check mark. You will now see the new version of your message with a new status “Edited” below it indicating that the message has been modified.

However, you cannot change messages whenever you want. You can only edit messages during the first 15 minutes after you send them. After that, the edit option is no longer available. You should also know that if the person on the other end isn’t using iOS 16 — meaning they don’t have the editing feature in their Messages app — they’ll see the edited version as a new message. In other words, they will be able to see your original text and its edited versions even after you rewrite them.

Undo a message in Messages

1. To unsend a message in the Messages app, hold your finger on the bell you want to recall.

2. Choose ‘Undo Send’ from the menu that appears. After a sweet new animation, your unwanted message disappears into the abyss.
Keep in mind that you only have 15 minutes to unsend a message before the unsend option disappears. If the person on the other end isn’t using iOS 16, your message will disappear just for you too. The person on the other end still sees the recalled text.

Mark a conversation as unread

1. To mark a conversation as unread, open the Messages app and hold your finger on the thread you want to mark.

2. In the newly opened menu you will now see a new option called “Mark as unread”. Tapping it closes the menu and a blue dot appears next to the conversation, indicating it’s now unread.

Recover already deleted messages

1. To recover recently deleted messages, open the Messages app and tap the “Edit” button on the top left corner.

2. In the newly displayed menu, select ‘Show recently deleted’. Now you can see how many recently deleted messages you have and which conversations they have been deleted from. Then just tap the conversations with the texts you want to recover and hit “Recover”. Your iPhone will display a message indicating how many messages will be recovered and the option to cancel the recovery process.

3. To continue recovering messages, tap the Recover button and to finish the process, press “Cancel”. Now if you open the chosen threads, you will see that the recently deleted messages have reverted to their conversations.

Again, however, you have a time window in which you can recover your recently deleted messages. You have 30 days to get your deleted messages back from the grave. After that, they cannot be saved.

Do the edit and undo options work with Android?

No they do not. To use the new edit and undo options, you and the person on the other end need to text on an iPhone using iMessage. When you send messages to Android phones using the Messages app, these new features simply don’t appear in the menu.

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment